Skip to content
May 8, 2013 / Sarah Ludwig

Astrid is the boss of me

astrid1

Just a quick post today to tell you how much I love Astrid. This productivity app and website is extremely effective and useful. With Astrid, you can create multiple lists, which can be anything you want. I use Astrid when I go to the grocery store, but I also live and die by it at work. I can sort items by priority or due date, and I can add collaborators for every task in any list–or add a collaborator to an entire list (my husband, ahem, is on my “home” list, which is a list of chores). When I complete a task, I check it off, which feels great…and if you check off a lot in a day, Astrid tells you how productive you are!

Astrid is a bit bossy at times. It sends reminders to your phone. Excuse me! You said you would vacuum! Sometimes I feel like Astrid is my mother, and I get a little annoyed. But ultimately, I appreciate the nag. After all, I clearly need the help.

Screen shot 2013-05-08 at 11.37.11 AM

I also like that you can create repeating tasks. There are certain things I do every week, every day, or every month that I like to remember. I can add notes for each task, too, so if I’m half-done with something, I can note that.

And finally, like all awesome things, Astrid has a Chrome add-on! Turn any website into a to-do item. And with the add-on, when you open up Gmail, an Astrid box appears that allows you to seamlessly add to a list. (You can also forward your emails to task@astrid.com.)

Hooray for efficiency!

(PS: Astrid was acquired by Yahoo! last week. Some Astrid users are concerned that our beloved app will go away or change. Stay tuned, and I’m hoping for the best.)

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Dan / May 8 2013 2:08 pm

    I would recommend checking out Gtdagenda for an online GTD manager.

    You can use it to manage your goals, projects and tasks, set next actions and contexts, use checklists, and a calendar.
    Syncs with Evernote, and also comes with mobile-web version, and Android and iPhone apps.

Leave a Reply

