Skip to content
April 26, 2012 / Sarah Ludwig

While lying sick in bed…

I just wanted to thank the many people who have written to me this month with their positive reactions to the SLJ article. Many of you have said that the article has provided you with the opportunity to advocate for your own position, or for the library program at your school, and I think that’s pretty amazing. That’s certainly what Linda and I hoped would be one of the outcomes of the article. Also, if you have not had a chance to check out the archives of the live chat that SLJ hosted on their Facebook page, I highly recommend it. It provides some updates on my position, among other things.

I’ve had a horrible chest cold since Monday and haven’t had the chance to write back to anyone, but even though I’m still home and in bed, I’m going to try to get caught up today. I am only in my 7th year of being a librarian. I’m only 34. So the fact that other professionals are looking to me for advice, or seeing my story as inspiring, is humbling and moving. I know that there are some folks out there who disagree with the message put forth by Linda and I and SLJ, but the warm and enthusiastic responses I’ve gotten have made it worthwhile. I also think this has been a great opportunity for us to talk about the future – and the present – of school librarianship in general. The only thing that’s hurt my feelings has been those comments which have insinuated – or flat-out asserted – that I was not a good school librarian, or that I’m not proud of being a librarian. I am very proud of being a librarian. I also think I’m pretty good at it, but I will always, always, try to get better.

Mostly, I’m just posting to push my last post, featuring my dumb face, off of the top of the page!

Anyway, hello to new blog followers and those of you just dropping in. And thanks for being so awesome.

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. You have a beautiful face, silly! LOVED your article!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 76 other followers

