Skip to content
December 9, 2010 / Sarah Ludwig

Write about it in your diary

Ooooh, it’s hard to write a blog about education and libraries when there are so many awesome people out there saying far smarter things about both than I ever could. Confession: I used to have a livejournal. I guess I still do – I never disabled it – and I had a nice little following of people on there, some of whom I became “real life” (ew) friends with and some of whom I’ve still never met in person but now follow on Twitter and Facebook. I think the reason people wanted to read my livejournal was because I was pretty open about my life, and I shared things about my experiences living in New York and breaking up with my college boyfriend and hating my publishing job and doing all the navel-gazing you do when you’re in your early twenties. Ahem. Because I am done doing that.

ANYWAY, the problem I have with blogging now is that I am a professional and I have to focus on important things. When, in fact, not everything I do and think is important. And sometimes the best part of my job is the little stuff, like when yesterday I was doing a lesson on online safety. I said to the kids – 6th graders – “if someone says something to you online that makes you sad or uncomfortable or angry, don’t keep it to yourself or write it in your diary, tell someone.” And they burst out laughing, like, hysterically. Apparently I am 1,000 years old and live in a Jane Austen novel because that is how long ago people wrote in diaries. When I recounted this story to Lorri later, she said “now they have online diaries!” Which is true. But still, it was funny. So for the rest of class I kept saying “write it in your diary!” Hmmm, I may have not been in on the joke per se, but at least I tried to pretend I was. Hey, at least I didn’t say “don’t write it in your livejournal.” Then I would have been asked to leave the room.

So here’s my plan: I am going to try to be more myself in my blog. It will be good practice for me, since I love to write and I don’t do it nearly enough.

Ahhh, that was good to get off my chest.

Leave a Reply

