Skip to content
September 2, 2010 / Sarah Ludwig

Reflections on week 1

Technically, week one is not over – it’s over tomorrow. But after two days of classes, I need to take a moment to think about how things have been going and what I would like to think about for the weeks ahead.

Lesson Planning

Right now, I am introducing the students to me, the computer lab, and the computers themselves. With the second graders, I put together a computer bingo game, which asked the kids to identify the parts of the computer. With the fifth and sixth graders, we played an online scavenger hunt on the Hamden Hall website. A few classes also used Pixie 2 to create either pictures of a memorable event over the summer or a name sign that they can tape to the back of their chairs to help me remember their names.

In week two, I’ll be doing online safety lessons with all of the students, though I have yet to find anything appropriate for kindergartners. Also, the fourth grade teachers approached me and asked if we could use class time to create a Wordle incorporating the words of Hamden Hall’s mission statement.

In week three, I’ll be introducing a few different programs to the kids, depending on their age (LittleFingers, Lexia, and Online Typing Pal), and having the fifth and sixth graders using Wallwisher to tell me – and their classmates – a bit about each other.

OK, all that said – I feel like I need to be thinking long-term about the technology curriculum in the lower school. I know it’s early, but I think it would benefit me to take part in the exercise of thinking far out, at least until the winter break, about the markers that these students should be hitting. Which leads me to…

Collaboration

One thing I’ll be starting next week is to have 15 minute meetings with the lower school teachers to talk about what they’re doing in their classes and how their curriculum can be incorporated into the technology classroom. I think this will be enormously helpful, as it will lend some shape to the months ahead. In addition, it will give me the chance to pitch ideas of my own to the faculty about ways of bringing new technologies into their classrooms. I’m also very excited to be meeting with the librarians on a weekly basis. They have some great ideas and there’s a ton we can do together.

And finally:

My own projects

This is perhaps the trickiest of the three overarching goals, as it requires me to really find some focus. There’s a lot to think about, so for now, I’m just going to post some ideas here for inspiration.

And then I’ve been musing about wrapping up all of the stuff I love to do (and am already pretty decent at) into one big digital media class/program:

  • Book trailers and digital booktalks/videocasting and video editing
  • Podcasting
  • Presentation zen
  • Building websites

Hmmm…a lot to think about. And it’s way too early for me even to be going there in my head. But I can’t help it!

PS: my new job is amazing. 🙂

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Kathryn Greenhill / Sep 2 2010 9:08 pm

    If you want a very, very cheesy model about online safety for the Yr2s , the Australian Govt has : http://www.cybersmart.gov.au/Young%20Kids/Hectors%20World.aspx …. Not checked it out in too much depth.

    Congrats on surviving the first week and having plans – big plans, big ideas … is good for kids.

    • sarahludwig / Sep 3 2010 7:02 am

      Cheesy is OK! Thanks for sharing this – I’ll take a look. And thanks for reading, Kathryn. OH, and thanks for absolutely killing me in Words with Friends! 🙂

  2. Kyle / Sep 2 2010 10:10 pm

    Awesome stuff, Sarah. I’m so happy for you!

Leave a Reply

